Requirements to become a licensed foster parent in the State of Arizona:
Any person in the home who is at least 18 years old must:
- Pass a background check and fingerprint clearance
- Be cleared by a doctor and immunization records must be submitted
- Submit a physicians report describing the individual’s physical, emotional and mental fitness to care for children
- Pass a CPS Central Records Check
- The home must pass a Department of Health Services inspection
- Applicants must complete the licensing homework packet
- Applicants must provide names and address’ for references
- Applicants must have access to transportation
- Applicants must have a telephone or similar means of communication
- Applicants must show proof of economic stability (have adequate income to support you own family’s needs prior to receiving the foster care reimbursement)
- Applicants must have a residence that is a safe environment for children
- Applicants must have adequate living space for a foster child including a separate bed and dresser space for each child
- Applicants with a pool must attain CPR certification and have a pool fence that meets DHS regulations
- Applicants must complete any other paperwork as needed
- Applicants must show a current medical statement
Foster care providers must be licensed and certified as foster parents by the State of Arizona.
*30 hours of pre-service training (PS-MAPP Training)
*Home study which consists of at least two in-home visits
*Home safety inspection
The process to become a foster parent usually takes 4-6 months.
PS-MAPP Training Class (30 hours)
You must be registered through ABCS to join the training.
If you are interested in joining a PS-MAPP training class please call us:
520-795-7541. Classes run June 3 – August 5, 2013. Classes will be held every Monday night from 6-9 p.m.
602-346-2300. Classes run June 6 – August 8, 2013. Classes will be held every Thursday night from 6-9 p.m.
We are also offering an accelerated PSMAPP class for Maricopa County Tuesday and Thursday nights April 11- May 13, 2013- 6-9 PM at Mountain Ridge Baptist Church (23104 N. 67th Ave., Glendale, 85310).
*If these dates do not work for you but you are still interested in Foster Care, please contact us. We would be happy to answer any questions you may have.
Some characteristics of foster families
Sense of Humor
Advocate for Children
Team player (willing to work with case managers, the child’s family, as appropriate, and others who may provide services to the child)
You may not become a licensed foster parent if you have committed, are awaiting trial or have been convicted of any of the following offenses:
Sexual abuse of a minor or vulnerable adult
First or second degree murder
Sexual exploitation of a minor or vulnerable adult
Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor or vulnerable adult
Felony offenses in the last 10 years involving narcotics
A dangerous crime against children (A.R.S. 13-604.01)
Child abuse or abuse of a vulnerable adult
Sexual conduct with a minor
Molestation of a child or vulnerable adult